Tekvest

scott1

Hi,

I'm thinking of buying a Tekvest. I've heard from a few people so far how awesome they are. Last months newsletter had a great posting about the vest. And I heard from Dallas about the vest too (Thank you Dallas)

Anyone have any feedback to share? good / bad / other??
Are there a lot of people using these vest who ride with the BMA?
Do you own a Tekvest? if so what model?

Thanks.

Gord

Dallas has been testing his for the last month and has a report in the current newsletter. The same article has comments from long-time user Larry Murray. Larry and Dallas have offered test rides of the vest. This current newsletter also has an ad from TekVest offering a 15% discount to members.

ktmkevin

I have been wearing tekvests for many years now as continued rib injuries threatened my less than stellar riding career. Yes, they are kind of pricey but, as you may have noticed in the newsletter, BMA members are eligible for a discount. And no, they are no hotter than a standard roost protector if you let the side straps out a bit and leave the front zipper down some. The bottom line is that a tekvest is the ultimate in torso protection and I have proved that point, at least to my self, many times over. I got another real good demonstration again yesterday while trying to keep up on one of Calabogie's gnarlier offerings. An awkward rock/root combination sent my front wheel, and then the rest of the bike, flopping to the right. I went left and, more or less, landing on my hands and knees. No biggie as it was a low speed ejection BUT hidden in the grass and weeds was a fairly large and tall stump that caught me in the chest/rib area; didn't know it was there until I felt the impact. As I picked myself up, without injury, I realized that the tekvest had saved me again as I am SURE that a standard chest protector would have left me banged and bruised. So there you have it; a testimonial from a believer. I guess you just have to decide for yourself what level o