Charging a Lithium Ion Battery!

jmajor

So the 2017 KTM XCW 250 comes with a 12V Skyrich Lithium Ion Battery (HJTZ5S-FP), which is super light and looks like it'll serve me well, but i'm starting to think about how to maintain this battery over the winter!

I've been reading loads of web sites about the dangers of Lithium Ion battery chargers, and KTM don't have one that works with Lithium Ion batteries!! Seems weird since they included the battery on the bike!?

I did check the Skyrich website, and they actually have a Lithium Battery Smart Charger for $80 USD!?

Does anyone have any experience with this charger or a recommendation for another way to charge this battery?? I have been looking at Bench Power Supplies with constant current/constant voltage, but these guys a bit pricier and shipping costs really add up!

I'm hoping to get a few (more than a few??) rides in before i have to put her to bed for the winter!!

Jason

rossw

Administrator
Staff member
I am not a battery expert but I know for my son's RCs which have Lithium Ion batteries, there is a store function which actually discharges the battery to some point. From what I understand Lithium Ion do not like to be stored fully charged or discharged.

jmajor

hey Ross! yeah, that's what concerns me, these Lithium Ion batteries have some peculiarities that to be handled properly...here's the guidance I was going to follow:

- Store inside - these batteries do not like to be frozen!!
- Do not use battery tender - trickle charges are disastrous for these kinds of batteries!
- Do not use Lead Acid battery charger! - Also disastrous for these batteries
- Do not fully discharge, they don't like that either! this is NOT a deep cycle battery!
- Carefully monitor the temperature of the battery while charging
- do not overcharge, use a charger that has a limit on how much voltage is sent to the battery - this is critical!