Back Roads Ontario Maps

betaman

I have recently purchase my first GPS - Montana 610. I attended the workshop for GPS early spring, however, I am about to purchase the Ontario maps for GPS, they offer it on 3 micros SD cards, Standard is and 8gig, then you have to pay additional fees for the 16gig and even more for the 32 gig. I am wonder what is the benefit to purchasing the large memory capacity of SD cards.

Is this the map set that I would want in order to ride at Calabogie?

Also did any one receive the power point slide show on how to setup the gps as recommended by Lee from Rally Connex? or have detailed notes they are willing to share?

Thank You
Neal

Terry

Staff member
Hi Neal, I have no direct experience with the Back Roads Ontario Maps and i wasn't at Lee's lecture but I may be able to help you anyway. The preferred way to buy or obtain from free open-source maps is to get all the maps you think you will ever need onto you computer first. This way you can pick and choose what maps to send to you GPS for any trip you are planning and quickly load them before you go. Any of the memory chips you mentioned will hold plenty of maps and you probably will never need to load most of the maps into the GPS anyway but it's nice to have them on you computer ready to grab if needed. The problem with buying the maps on SD cards already loaded is as you describe, how big should the chip be and what maps will I need has to be sorted out before the purchase. Some people will think that they can do everything from the GPS and not have to use a computer with it but this is just like having a digital camera without a computer. it can be done but it really is not the way to go. the best way to enjoy an organized GPS ride is to dump all your recorded track-logs, your tracks, way-points and routes into you computer and delete them from your GPS before you show up for the ride.