Travel forum?

MattCRF

Hi I'm new to the BMA this year and enjoying the riding areas for sure. I'm not well connected in the sport nor with other members, but would like to have the chance to take more advice from fellow riders.

Specifically, I'm looking to plan more adventure touring &/or dualsport travel in the coming years. I'm looking to quit work next year to allow more time for this. This summer I got a taste of touring with a 3100 km trip around the Yukon. I'm interested in moto-camping mixed with more "upscale" trips, incorporating hotels when the budget allows, or any forms of glamping. I have a buddy with similar interest, so I'm not doing this alone.

What are some peoples experiences?

What are some of the better multi-day trips recommended locally (around Ontario & Quebec)? I think these would be great to get my feet wet (figuratively and literally), sort out gear and basically "shake out the sails".

What about nationally & further abroad? Western/Eastern Canada, South America, Asia, .... I'm the kind of guy would like to take a logical approach/natural progression of building up my experience and skills trip-by-trip.

Also, would people be interested in a Travel forum on this site? I don't see one, nor know how to create one.

Matt
Versys 1000
CRF250L
Silverado 4x4 & trailer

weekender

Hi Matt,

Some advice for long trips:
* gore-tex (or equivalent) gear - the stuff with the gore-tex laminated on the outside so you don't have to mess around with liners when things get wet; plus, all the gear stays dry with this setup, not just the inside liner.
* heated jacket liner (unless you're travelling exclusively in the summer)
* merino wool shirts - look-up the benefits of merino if you're not familiar with it. I've worn the same shirt for weeks on trips (and didn't get any funny looks when walking into restaurants)
* easy access to water - opening panniers every time you want a drink is a pain, and results in dehydration.